RSS

Zombies!

04 May

The latest addition to my stable of decks is this cheerful fella:

Nothing too innovative here; Zombies, and ways to kill your creatures so I can have them, preferably as Zombies. To the decklist!

Click here for decklist

Notable things about the decklist – some things serve several purposes. Graveborn Muse, for example is both a Zombie, and card draw. Gravespawn Soveriegn is both a Zombie and Brings Yours Back… and so on. There are some cards I still want to get – most notably Army of the Damned and Endless Ranks of the Dead – but this should be a pretty good start, I hope. Am I missing anything obvious?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2012 in Challenge of Doom, EDH/Commander

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Zombies!

  1. danny

    May 4, 2012 at 5:57 am

    I would play the age old favourite of zombie decks, crypt defiler if i could. Also, skullclamp is uncool? šŸ˜€

     
    • Viperion

      May 4, 2012 at 8:48 am

      Grave Defiler? Skullclamp is totally not uncool – I have one kicking around somewhere. What do you think I should drop?

       
  2. Angus

    May 4, 2012 at 9:59 am

    cut the phages .. play gravedigger? or perhaps the random zombie back gravedigger from ISD or DKA ghoulcaller also coffin queen is a zombie… just saying…

     
    • Viperion

      May 4, 2012 at 10:07 am

      I like the phages – with a lord or two they’re properly scary. Gravedigger (and related friends) were in the initial build but I don’t know if they’d carry their weight (e.g cost four times as much as Carnophage, just as tough).

      Coffin Queen, huh? šŸ˜‰ Must find one.

      What I’d like is a Cover of Darkness or Intimidation (or in a pinch Dance of Shadows or Hideous Visage) for Alpha-Striking goodness.

       
  3. Angus

    May 4, 2012 at 10:09 am

    also i think helldozer is going to draw you undeserved amounts of hate.. i’d consider a grotesque hybrid… he seems sick also with any amount of recursion flesh bag marauder is probably better than one of your random kill spells…

     
    • Viperion

      May 4, 2012 at 10:21 am

      Helldozer is something I’ve been trying to run for a LONG time, I want to see how he does for reals. Obviously he’s dangerous, but there aren’t that many lands I’d want to kill – but the ones I do want to kill must DIE NOW. I’ll play him a few times and see how he goes.

      Grotesque Hybrid is really interesting – I hadn’t run across it before. Not sure about him but may try and find one and give it a whirl.

      My kill spells aren’t as random as they look – when I was looking for kill spells I was looking for preferably CMC 3 or less, and instant speed (so I can steal stuff with Lim-Dul as a trick). Black gets ‘Destroy Target Creature’ – they’re overwhelmingly 5 mana and sorcery speed. So I have to satisfy myself with “conditional” removal. But when that condition is “non-elf” or “non-spirit” I think I’ll be fine 98% of the time. Fleshbag Marauder, while good, won’t get me the creature I want, when I want it. ‘Sides, I’m getting sick of the sight of him šŸ˜‰

       

Leave a Reply

 
