RSS

And now for something completely different – actual content!

25 Mar

After looking back at the last few (more than few, really) posts I’ve made, I noticed that there isn’t any real content there – there’s a whole bunch of links to decklists, a post about the page I made to link to my decklists, and a couple of posts about changes I’ve made to my decklists.

Frankly, it’s a wonder I still get any hits at all 😛 However, now that I do have all my decklists online and current (sans Edric which is a work in progress) I feel more confident that I’ll be able to manage my decks, and what needs to go in them, as well as giving my devoted followers something to look at when I prattle on about my decks. So without further ado…

Game Report: Doran, the Siege Tower, part 1

The Decks: Karrthus, Doran, and Stonebrow

I really wanted to take my new improved Doran list out for a spin after rebuilding it more or less the way Thaumaturge from The Command Zone redesigned it for me. I’m still after some cards for it, but for now I’ve put in some – what I consider to be – acceptable substitutes. Turn 1 I get my Treefolk Harbinger on, and search up a Temple Garden to the top of my library. On turn 2, Stonebrow lays down Cream of the Crop. I play Battlewand Oak on turn 3. Karrthus adds a Rakdos Pit Dragon on turn 4, while I only have a Spidersilk Armor, and miss my land drop, making my Battlewand a sad panda. Turn 5 is a lot more interesting – Karrthus Naturalize‘s the Cream of the Crop, and sends the Pit Dragon into Stonebrow (who still doesn’t have anything but lands). I draw the perfect land – Overgrown Tomb. It’s a Forest for Battlewand, and a black source with which I can summon Doran, also giving Battlewand another +2. I do so and crack into Karrthus for 12 (3 from Harbinger, 3 + 2 + 2 from Battlewand, +1 each from Spidersilk Armor). Stonebrow finally gets a creature – Oracle of Mul Daya, playing both a Tectonic Edge and Strip Mine. However, the Oracle is short lived – on his next turn Karrthus Lightning Bolts it and plays Painful Quandary, again sending the dragon into Stonebrow as I have Doran to block with. On my turn I only play Eland Umbra on Doran, losing 5 life to the Painful Quandry and crash into Karrthus again for (does some math) 18. That’s some serious damage! Stonebrow lays down a morph (It’s Willbender! Oh, wait…) and we eventually decide that it’s RAkroma. Karrthus plays Kodama’s Reach and attacks me with the Pit Dragon. I untap and kill him (on turn 7!! that’s almost unheard of in our group), and then play Changeling Hero, championing the Harbinger. Stonebrow unmorphs… Hystrodon. Well, that’s not too threatening! Then he plays Bear Umbra on it. Hrm. That’s slightly more threatening.

Unfortunately the game slows down a bit here – Stonebrow doesn’t have very many ways of getting rid of my guys, and I have few ways of getting rid of his. Things and stuff happen (my notes go away for the most part) but he keeps my mana down by Strip Mining my OG Tomb, and Tec-Edging my Orzhov Basilica, which almost cuts me off from black mana altogether. At one point I finally get rid of the Hystrodon (and therefore Bear Umbra) by double blocking with my Changeling Hero and something else, and when the Hero dies, Harbinger comes back into play and I search up Timber Protector. Now all my guys are indestructible, but his guys are HUGE and are trampling over me. It’s looking grim when he drops a Aggravated Assault and has me dead on board next turn. Fortunately for me, I have Pernicious Deed in my hand, and can drop it with 4 mana remaining. I do that, and he swings in with eleventy million worth of damage, and a Vigor in play (he doesn’t swing with Vigor) I almost screw the whole thing up by trying to claim that my Ohran Viper kills his (now massive) creature until he quite rightly points out that the Viper never actually did damage (it’s prevented by Vigor) so it’s destroy ability never triggers. I kill the Aggravated Assault in the end of combat step with the Deed, and enough of my guys survive to kil him on the backswing.

A win! A palpable win!

MVP: Treefolk Harbinger

LVP: Hard to say… I don’t remember drawing any cards I was sad to see. Ohran Viper was slightly disappointing but that’s mostly because it wasn’t protected by Timber Protector, and was interfered with by Vigor.

Coming tomorrow, Doran game report, part 2!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2012 in EDH/Commander, Game Report

 

Tags:

7 responses to “And now for something completely different – actual content!

  1. David Schreiner

    March 25, 2012 at 8:25 am

    yo. you need to get the html code that makes cards pop up when you mouseover. clicking each one is brutal. ask commandercast for help.

     
    • Viperion

      March 25, 2012 at 11:59 am

      Yeah I know clicking on the links is a bit tedious – CommanderCast is on a different blog software that allows that – wordpress doesn’t let you run any javascript on their pages and that’s what’s needed for the mouseover images. Sorry about that! Thanks for reading though 🙂

       
  2. danny

    March 25, 2012 at 8:25 am

    Sounds awsome, doran sounds great :D, i might try to make one of my ghave idea doesn’t pan out…but too many ghavve already in mu play group….

     
    • Viperion

      March 25, 2012 at 12:01 pm

      It was good times, and made a nice change from the old Doran deck that didn’t have any real interaction other than smashing face – this one has a lot more to do with regards to the opponents permaments. We haven’t got a Ghave deck in our group at the moment (there may have been one before) but they seem pretty brutal if built “right”

       
      • Sam

        March 25, 2012 at 1:08 pm

        Yeh I had a ghave for a bit. Nice deck.
        Yay COntent!

         
  3. thaumaturge

    March 27, 2012 at 4:03 am

    Hey, glad to hear the deck is working better. It’s been a while since I made my contribution, but of all the cards that have come out since then, I think the one card I’d most want for this deck is…
    Vault of the Archangel. I don’t own one myself yet, but I’ve already butted heads with it in a couple of my friends’ decks. And it is a friggin’ NIGHTMARE to play against, if you’re in any kind of creature damage race. Holy crap.

     
    • Viperion

      March 27, 2012 at 11:41 am

      Yeah I think – as most people said when it came out – that belongs in pretty much every W/B deck ever that runs creatures. If I get one, it’ll be going in Ghost Council. And if I get two, Doran. Three, Kaalia. Four, Sen Triplets 🙂 (Actually it might not make it into Sen Triplets, there won’t be many creatures in it)

       

Leave a Reply

 
