RSS

Game Report (kinda) – Edric, Spymaster of Trest

26 Feb

I threw together what I consider to be an unfinished Edric deck and took it along to the regular Tue night game to see how it did. Surprisingly (to me) it was hanging in there quite well in both games I played – I didn’t win any of them but Edric did very well keeping the heat off me, and attacking with random 1/1 and 2/2’s which are unblockable (common comment: “This has shadow, you have a forest, you have an island, you have an artifact, you don’t have any creatures with defender“) the damage actually adds up pretty quickly, but at the same time your opponents don’t feel too threatened because they know you can’t attack for 20 the next turn. Of all the evasive fatties I posted in the last Edric post the only one I could actually find was Simic Sky Swallower, so I’m a little short on finishers. (I did get a Phyrexian Ingester one game, but I tried to eat a Jareth and he just gave himself pro-blue. I’m such a scrub.)

Typical combat phases went something like the above, then people taking some damage, then I’d go “Draw, Draw, Draw, Draw, Draw, Loot” – it was lots of fun, and I got a lot of positive comments about how the deck stays on theme, but is still good(ish). Hidden Guerrillas got a lot of laughs, and managed to acutally connect once. One card was suggested, and although it probably won’t come up much, I may have to find one just because of the awesome:

I find it HILARIOUS that the printed wording and the Oracle text for this card are almost completely mirror images of each other – cards that simply don’t work as printed and need a rewrite to work under the rules amuse me. The thing with this one, though, is that my creatures (if I’m going the job right) can’t be blocked, and so this wouldn’t really do anything.

The second game in particular needs to be mentioned (because I said I would) – It was Edric, Ayesha Tanaka, (my) Sek’Kuar, Vorosh, the Hunter, and… Gaddock Teeg. I’m not entirely sure what the Ayesha Tanaka deck does, as it was kept in control for most of the game by threats from the other players. I’d like to play against it again to see what it gets up to – some kind of artifact shenanigans, I’m guessing.

Anyway, things are going along normally (except for Vorosh, who is colour screwed for Black mana), until Teeg plays his General and…. Choke, announcing it with a big goofy grin like it’s the funniest play in the world. Here’s the thing, dude: stopping half the table from playing half their deck isn’t funny, it’s dumb and annoying. Thankfully Tanaka has a Disenchant in hand and uses it immediately meaning I get an untap step (I was immediately after Teeg and had something like 4 islands and 2 forests in play). After the game the Teeg player pulls out some cards from his deck: Vorinclex. Stony Silence. And more like them that I can’t remember right now.

Because apparently not letting people play the game is hilarious. Now I don’t mind Gaddock Teeg himself too much – during this game I was sitting on a Spelljack, Predatory Focus, and Jace’s Ingenuity which were dead cards until Teeg died, but I had plenty of creatures and small spells, but at the same time it shut Vorosh down completely – to the point where the player didn’t really get anything going until Teeg died – and had a pretty big effect on Tanaka as well. I think Teeg shuts down a lot of the more degenerate things you can do in EDH, which is fine and perfectly fair way of inflicting a bit of disruption in colours that otherwise don’t get too much of it, but as part of a whole deck that aims to stop the other players from participating in the game, he’s a dick.

Anyway, as the game rolled on Edric did his thing, and the damage started flying around. I was trying to share the damage around as much as possible – in part because the landwalkers I had determined who I could attack, and in part because I wanted to keep my profile lower so I could see more of my deck, and see how it would run. In the end I think it was Sek’ that took the game out (although to be honest I can’t remember).

Teeg was the first to die. Which brings me to my other point: If you’re going to play a deck that no one likes, you can expect to be the first out, every game. So why build it?

Answers on a postcard 😉

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2012 in EDH/Commander, Game Report

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Game Report (kinda) – Edric, Spymaster of Trest

  1. danny

    February 26, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    Sometimes people just want to draw some hate, we have someone down here who plays zozu, guess who dies first every game :P. In my mind I don’t actually mind people playing generals/cards/strategies that are hated/degenerate as long as they don’t whine when everyone around the table goes after them. Like if you are going to sneak attack in blightsteel colossus and kiki jiki and karmic guide and terrastodone to kill the table, then don’t be surprised when the whole table gun for you from turn 1 onwards (his first 2 lands were strip mined :P)

    As far as I am concerned, if I show up with a general like Arcum Dagson, i am laying down the gaunlet to the table, kill me first, or else everyone else dies :P. But I can see this would be difficult if there is too much power disparity between the decks.

    Another thing is what happens when someone shows up with some notoriously unfair generals e.g. Zur, Sharuum, Azami, Arcum but the player say to the table “o I am making a fair version of this” or other comments of similar meaning, would you believe them?

     
    • Viperion

      February 26, 2012 at 2:00 pm

      I believe them the first time – and if they weren’t being honest I don’t believe anything they say after that point 😉

       
  2. Cooper

    February 26, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    You build it for the fun of course

     
    • Cooper

      February 27, 2012 at 11:03 am

      That was ajay on my phone saying that btw

       
      • Viperion

        February 27, 2012 at 11:44 am

        Troll poster/deckbuilder is a troll.

         

Leave a Reply

 
