RSS

Game Reports: Blech

17 Jan

(Decks I’m playing in italics)

Game 1:

Karn, Glissa and Merieke vs Kaalia

I scoop in response to my fourth creature getting killed/taken control of before I can swing with it. That game goes another hour and apparently it’s my fault because they don’t have their own creatures to use

Game 2:

Isperia, Tolsimir, Sliver Legion (5 colour angels)

I pull out Isperia one last time before it gets ripped apart and rebuilt (see General Damage Control). Isperia actually pulls out the win, but not before all three decks get into a horrible creature stall. Pride of the Clouds is a 24/24, and that’s after the angel deck is taken out of the game!

Game 3:

Nin, Child of Alara (5-colour tokens), Jaya Ballard

Nin gets turn 2 Kami of the Crescent Moon. 12 turns, 24 spells and 6 FREAKING LAND later, I die.

 

I hate EDH…..

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2012 in EDH/Commander, Game Report

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Game Reports: Blech

  1. Sam

    January 18, 2012 at 11:16 am

    Wow just looked at the changed list on GDC – its pretty different.
    Would go alright I imagine. Mind you, I think our group may be swinging to be anti-control soon, as I know Jock and myself are getting sick of counterspells. Hence his artifact shennanigans and my move to some faster decks.

    Suck about your games last night. We ended up playing till one in the morning — far too late, and we ended up calling it a four way draw too. A mono-blue counter spell deck and a creatureless Miereke deck with buy back counter spells end up make a 2 and half hour game that went no where slow – go figure? To be honest it wasnt the worst game but….

     
    • Viperion

      January 18, 2012 at 11:29 am

      The Karn deck is just another kind of control deck, just one without counters. Forbid is the worst card in the world (possibly tied with Constant Mists).

      2 1/2 hours for a four way draw? HOLY SHIT.

      I’m going to go calm down for a bit. I know what my next article is about…

       
  2. murkymercy

    January 18, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    It was Spell Burst FYI. Also the creature lock happened because no one played a wrath, when its just creature decks vs each other boards become pretty clogged up. That is fine and all but you just have to live with it if no one plays at least a little control. Getting the right mix of decks makes a huge difference to how much fun and how balanced a multi player game is.

     
  3. Gene Taylor

    January 18, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    The first scoop seems like a pretty minor thing to scoop over, I’ve had games with Stonebrow where I have only ever goten one untap with my dudes not being summoning sick.

     
    • Viperion

      January 18, 2012 at 8:42 pm

      Played Kaalia. Liquimetal Coating –> Sculpting Steel. (Fair enough, Kaalia’s dangerous)
      Played Firemane Angel. Got stolen with Legacy’s Allure
      Played Hoard-Smelter Dragon. Got stolen with Merieke
      Played Mordant Dragon. Almost got stolen mid-combat (hasty) with Merieke (untapping her with Minamo) but Merieke got killed with Minamo on the stack
      Glissa targets me with some edict or another, so he can get back Steel Hellkite…..

      I play one creature per turn with that deck. There’s no way it can keep anything on the board with three control decks making sure I never swing. It was never going to go anywhere, and I’d rather start another game than sit either doing nothing, or continually getting creatures killed/stolen for the rest of the game.

       

Leave a Reply

 
