RSS

Edric: Brainstorming

16 Jan

As detailed below, my next deck will be a Superspies Edric. It’ll definitely be a bit lower on the power scale than it could be (the other option in the poll below – U/G Elves – would have been more powerful by some margin) but hopefully I can strike the right balance between power and fun… What follows below are some initial thoughts on what could and should go in it. Bullet (point) time!

OK so that’s all the obvious stuff. What’s slightly less obvious? What should I put it that’s vaguely on theme that I can use to actually close out games? Suiting up 1/1’s and 2/2’s to get in there is all well and good, but in the end I’m coming dangerously close to making another deck that doesn’t really do anything, and can be safely ignored. All going well I’ll be drawing a lot of cards with this deck; I’m already running Psychosis Crawler in a couple of decks but maybe it needs to go in here too? I’ll be putting Simic Sky Swallower in as he’s a big threat, and I can (barely) justify it’s inclusion as a mutated flying super-soldier. Or something. (The art for that guy always made me think of a flying battle station, for some reason. Maybe it’s just me).

The other issue is I’m really having issues coming up with on-theme(ish) green cards to put into the deck. Unsurprisingly, green doesn’t get a lot of sneaky spy-types…..

Because of the theme of the Magic game, my Spy Organisation (which really needs a name, or at least an A.C.R.O.N.Y.M) will be “fantasy spy” rather than “hi-tech spy”, but even so with the odd exception I can’t think of any green cards that really fit. Any suggestions?

I’ll be posting a quasi-decklist in the next week or so; in the meantime feel free to suggest cards or themes in the comments!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2012 in Challenge of Doom, EDH/Commander

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Edric: Brainstorming

  1. Sam

    January 16, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    What about legendary creatures with abilities from each colour?
    Sort of like the really tough individual doing his thing with lots of gear? Actually just looked and can only see Thrun that fits this category.
    Few more blue ones though – Rayne, Sakashima, Thada Adel.
    Just found Ixidor – how about morphs does that fit secret squirrel theme?

     
    • Viperion

      January 16, 2012 at 9:37 pm

      I had considered Sakashima (and other clone types) as Masters of Disguise 🙂 Ixidor is actually going to be my mono-U General although that doesn’t necessarily exclude him. I want to work off Edric’s trigger as much as possible, and playing a bunch of morphs (which is what my Mono-U deck will do anwyay) won’t necessarily help with that. Thada Adel fits nicely.

      I like the Elite Spy idea – the “00” agents of A.C.R.O.N.Y.M, so to speak.

      Edit: In fact, I like the idea so much I may even number the legendary guys in here… 001 for Higure, 002 for Sakashima, 003 for Thada Adel, etc. I’ll have to put a big “M” on Edric somewhere 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
