RSS

Next Up: Well, maybe….

08 Dec

It’s been a while since I posted anything – there are lots of reasons for that but the most relevant is that I’ve been internalising a really complictated situation in my ‘ead (Those of you who don’t get the reference – and most probably won’t – click here 😉 ). While building my last 3 or 4 decks, I keep running into cards and thinking “Hey that would work really well in Sek’Kuar!” I have tons of ideas for this deck and it will be one of the more syngergistic and therefore hopefully smoother and better decks that I have.

But then I look at poor old Doran, and Isperia, and the newer but no less disappointing Garza Zol and Damia – all of which could be fun and interesting and dangerous – but at the moment they’re definitely below the curve on power level, and some of them just aren’t that interesting.

So I have bit of a dilemma – do I build Sek’Kuar, or rebuild some of my less fun, less “good” decks?

I have some ideas for each of these poor suffering decks, and I think I’ve been a bit guilty (especially with Doran, Isperia and Garza Zol) of sticking too much to the theme at the expense of power. All of the decks mentioned can simply be ignored by the other players and taken out pretty much at leisure (with the odd exception – all the decks have won games except Damia and I’ve only played that twice), and that’s the sign of a bad deck, surely.

What do you folks think? All of my ideas for Sek’Kuar are more or less entrenched and I won’t forget about them soon, but I like putting decks together and giving them a play to see how they go. I also have a great dislike for decks I know should be better, and aren’t.

What to do, what to do….

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2011 in Challenge of Doom, EDH/Commander

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Next Up: Well, maybe….

  1. DJ

    December 9, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I vote for both!

    I’m in the same boat as you currently; there are a handful of my decks that I’ve found to be underperforming, while at the same time I’m building an Angus deck with a big handful of synergisting ideas in mind, as well as tweaking a new Sisters Of Stone Death list.

    It never hurts to keep your mind open to ideas that come in while on another track. I’m finding ideas from one deck are spilling over to the next one, and so on. It’s a ton of pans to have in the fire at once, but it keeps me moving, and keeps everything evolving.

     
    • Viperion

      December 9, 2011 at 11:36 am

      Hmmm. Will think on that – I probably don’t have enough spare time at the moment to do both at once, but at the same time I’m not sure what exactly I should be doing with the decks that aren’t working (I have a few ideas but nothing more advanced than “put in Ye Olde Goode Cards”)

       
  2. Sam

    December 9, 2011 at 9:27 am

    I agree with both plans of action.

    Also I do agree with your assessment of some of your decks. A deck that can be ignored does sometimes get wins – but largely because it has been ignored. While the W counts, it may not be the most fun to get there.

    You missed some ok games this week. Well ok for big splashy spells. Mind you I imagine you were there the week before for Warp World shennanigins. Well that happened again. Someone needs to think about their decks me thinks. Also Jace 3 ultimate went off with 80 cards drawn 🙂

    If you are strapped for time – hmmm, maybe pull apart the decks and make your new one. Then next week go back to the pulled apart pile and re-build. Personally I think having cards in a deck that you conciously or sub-conciously avoid playing is a waste.

     
    • Viperion

      December 9, 2011 at 11:39 am

      Yeah you’re right it’s not fun to win just because everyone has left you alone all game.

      I was buggered after the weekend and had a millions things to do around home so didn’t make it this week. Last week you weren’t there? Unless you arrived late. I played two early games with Damia, both sucked the will to live out of me, and I went home early 🙂

      I hadn’t considered pulling the decks apart and starting over (more or less). I should be keeping a list of cards to trade for/I want, cards to see if they perform or not, and cards that should probably be cut.

      Cheers!

       
  3. Sam

    December 9, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    Nah I wasnt there but I heard all about it from Joe, who apparently pulled all sorts of Warp World s**t last week, and the same this week. Mind you this week he did it to stop my very good board position that, while not presenting any obvious winning condition, was very good. However, that process also resulted in Jock winning. Was one of those games were its decided not by the winner really, but by the guy who likes to…,well, do things….for some….reason?
    On a positive note, if not for Jock, I was about to go from 36 permanents before Warp World one to fifty plus after WW 2. Curse you Jock.

     
  4. murkymercy

    December 10, 2011 at 9:48 am

    Your disappointment makes magic worth playing 😛

     
  5. Joe

    December 23, 2011 at 7:52 am

    I love the idea of ripping apart the old decks and then working on the Sek’Kuar deck. Ripping the other decks apart will show you all the pieces (potentially jogging something in your brain) of the decks, get you thinking about them in such a way that avoids the conundrum of how bad or unfun they’re playing out, and then lets you swing for the fences with a new deck that’s looking to be really good. I write fiction for pleasure and that’s the kind of plan that I’d go for when in a bit of a rut with a story. Break it down a bit, see what I like about it and what I don’t like, take note of it all, and then let it breath. From there, working on a stronger story vents some frustration, builds up some confidence, and gives me a finished product I can hang my proverbial hat on (ya know, if I was one of those guys that likes wearing hats). Plus, putting together a deck more successfully could show you some of the things that might improve those other decks.

    Either way, good luck with the projects and nice blog, man.

     
    • Viperion

      December 23, 2011 at 7:58 am

      Thanks Joe 🙂

      You make some good points there and I like the strategy you’re outlining. Thanks for the compliment!

       

Leave a Reply

 
