RSS

Damia – Finished Decklist

26 Nov

Well after the overwhelming zero responses to my desperate pleas for help, I finished up the first draft of this deck. Decklist first, comments later:

General
1 Damia, Sage of Stone

Ramp
1 Birds of Paradise
1 Coiling Oracle
1 Cultivate
1 Dimir Signet
1 Dreamscape Artist
1 Elves of Deep Shadow
1 Explosive Vegetation
1 Farseek
1 Fertilid
1 Golgari Signet
1 Harrow
1 Kodama’s Reach
1 Llanowar Elves
1 Mana Vault
1 Oracle of Mul Daya
1 Primeval Titan
1 Sakura-Tribe Elder
1 Search for Tomorrow
1 Simic Signet
1 Sol Ring
1 Wood Elves

Good, for Cheap
1 Allosaurus Rider
1 Animate Dead
1 Avatar of Woe
1 Cryptoplasm
1 Durkwood Baloth
1 Gatstaf Shepherd
1 Hypergenesis
1 Living End
1 Mortivore
1 Phantasmal Image
1 Scute Mob
1 Skullbriar, the Walking Grave
1 Stitch Together
1 Vesuvan Shapeshifter
1 Villagers of Estwald

Randoms/Cutestuff
1 Abundance
1 Bottled Cloister
1 Herald of Leshrac
1 Ice Cauldron
1 Moonring Mirror
1 Null Profusion
1 Psychic Possession
1 Psychosis Crawler
1 Sages of the Anima
1 Teferi’s Puzzle Box
1 Thought Gorger
1 Urborg Syphon-Mage
1 Vinelasher Kudzu
1 Wild Mongrel
1 Zombie Infestation

Goodstuff
1 Black Sun’s Zenith
1 Darksteel Plate
1 Eternal Witness
1 Genesis Wave
1 Indrik Stomphowler
1 Krosan Grip
1 Lightning Greaves
1 Nezumi Graverobber
1 Regrowth
1 Rite of Replication
1 Spitting Image
1 Swiftfoot Boots
1 Wickerbough Elder

Mana
1 Barren Moor
1 Breeding Pool
1 Command Tower
1 Dreadship Reef
1 Drowned Catacomb
1 Exotic Orchard
1 Lonely Sandbar
1 Overgrown Tomb
1 Temple of the False God
1 Tranquil Thicket
1 Twilight Mire
1 Woodland Cemetery
13 Forest
5 Island
5 Swamp

(Link to deckstats here)

I have a few thoughts on the list; for starters there are a lot of “some of this, could be more, but isn’t…” like Dreamscape Artist and Urborg Syphon-Mage, for something to do with excess lands in my hand, but no other spellshapers…. I’m sure there are others I could put in (Rampant Growth guy, at least, springs to mind). Likewise I’m playing Allosaurus Rider but not Soul Spike – because in EDH it’s quite, quite bad – and I would be playing Commandeer if I had one. Likewise with Suspend spells – I could put a lot more of them in (Riftwing Cloudskate and Errant Ephemeron spring to mind straight away but I’m sure there are others)

There are also quite a lot of experiments in this deck. Will Bottled Cloister live for more than a turn? Will Moonring Mirror work in this deck? Do I have too much ramp? Are the werewolves any good? If so, am I running the right ones? Do I need more graveyard removal? Destruction in general? Counterspells?

Comments (yeah right ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) below!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2011 in Challenge of Doom, EDH/Commander

 

Tags:

9 responses to “Damia – Finished Decklist

  1. murkymercy

    November 27, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Cloister is awesome but has a giant target on it

     
  2. Gene Taylor

    November 27, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    /rant
    Please cut the Teferi’s puzzle box, that card is my vorinclex. All it does is generate busywork and prevent players from planning out their turn ahead of time.

     
    • Viperion

      November 27, 2011 at 9:53 pm

      /rant? You’re finishing your rant before you start it? ๐Ÿ˜›

      All it does it let me plan my turn and hand out and disrupt all my opponents (it activates in the draw step, which hopefully I’ll be skipping) – I’m aware that it may draw a big fate hate target on my head though so I’ll be watching it to see what reactions it provokes.

      Plus, Puzzle Box plus Psychic Possession = lolololololololololol ๐Ÿ˜‰

       
  3. Thaumaturge

    December 2, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    I’d cut the mana elves – Llanowar Elves, Elves of Deep Shadow, and Birds of Paradise in favor of Skyshroud Claim and two non-ramp spells. I agree that this deck likes to ramp like mad, but mana dorks just get Wrathed away too easily and quickly to be reliably good. Just go for straight land-ramp like STE and Wood Elves.

    I think Allosaurus Riders is pretty weak-sauce overall, though I understand the reasoning behind it. Love Scute-Mob, though, that shit is pretty hilarious. I once had to Transmute a Dimir House Guard for a Damnation to deal with a Scute Mob that had just gotten WAY out of hand. Since then, I’ve given the card a grudging, wary sort of respect.

    Anyway, post some game reports or something so we can get a feel for how the deck runs. I’m all about Damia, and making her really, trully work as a legit general is definitely a priority of mine.

     
    • Viperion

      December 5, 2011 at 9:54 pm

      I was going to post a game report for her (played two games last week) but I had a big roleplaying event on in Auckland this weekend just gone (I live in Dunedin, about 800km away) and both games were like:

      Play some cards.
      Play Damia
      Play a MILLION DOODS
      Sit there with a bunch of 1/1 and 2/2 and do NOTHING while other people play with Dragons ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      On the plus(?) side, someone stole Damia in the first game (and held on to her for a good while) and he had an AWESOME game….

       
  4. Thaumaturge

    December 2, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    Also, I vastly prefer Acidic Slime to Wickerbough Elder, unless there’s some secret tech at work here that I’m overlooking… being able to hit a land like Stronghold or Cradle is key, and a 2/2 Deathtouch usually makes a far better blocker than a vanilla 4/4.

     
    • Viperion

      December 5, 2011 at 9:52 pm

      Yeah, you’re probably right there – will make that change. I get a bit hung up on the p/t, and 4/4 > 2/2 ya know? ๐Ÿ˜‰

       
  5. Sam

    December 20, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    This is probably a bit late, but I think you are under-utilising blue in this deck list.
    Have a look at my Damia tonight. I know my deck is more about the drawing of cards theme,
    but some aspects might be useful. Your deck feels like it needs the Damia to live for it to work,
    which is fair enough, but sometimes (or most times) that just isnt going to happen. Cheap card
    draw ftw.

    I also agree that while a million dudes can be good, in multiplayer they tend to be outclassed. Maybe instead of playing cheap dudes, play cheap ways to steal other peoples dudes…

     
    • Viperion

      December 20, 2011 at 3:24 pm

      I’ve probably unintenionally missed a lot of blue cards simply because I don’t like blue very much ๐Ÿ™‚ Will have a look at your deck tonight. My theory with not having many draw spells in the deck is either I’ll have Damia out and be drawing a bunch – in which case card draw spells are cards I pretty much don’t want – or she’ll be dead in which case I get my normal draw anyway. However, I did get Null Profusion into play last time I played the deck and that card draw worked very nicely

       

Leave a Reply

 
