RSS

Game Report – Garza Zol; epic game is epic

09 Nov

Got a game in with the Garza Zol deck last night – but before the game started I managed to trade for two of the cards I really wanted for the deck:

– Blight Sickle
– Aura of Dominion

+ Death Pits of Rath
+ Thornbite Staff

Thanks Sam 😉

A big game this time – 5 player free-for-all, involving:

Ghave, Ruhan, Garza Zol, (my) Tolsimir, and Intet

The action starts pretty much straight away when Tolsimir drops a Soul Warden and Ruhan an Auriok Champion, although they don’t get much value out of them immediately as we all have a pretty slow start. I only have the Thornbite Staff and Crown of Empires on the board. Much comment about the Crown is made, and about how bad it is… but it did its job nicely, and is one of those things (apparently) that no one can be bothered destroying because there are other more important things to get. The first real significant play is when Ruhan plays Callous Oppressor – and then we can’t figure out who gets to choose the creature type. As it turns out, having now checked, it’s the Oppressor’s controller:

Q: In a multiplayer game, I play Callous Oppressor. Who chooses the creature type?

A: An opponent of your choice gets to choose. The choice of opponent isn’t targeted.

StarCityGames Ask the Judge, 25 May 2004

 In the end I think that’s how we did it anyway; the Ruhan player chooses the Intet player who names….. Goblin. Apparently he likes his Kiki-Jiki 😉 Thus begins my uphill battle to get rid of the stupid thing, before it keeps taking my best Vampires away from me – something I forget when I get to 7 mana, cast Garza Zol, and he grabs it before he finds out who I’m attacking (it would have been him anyway).

It’s about now that the game really starts going, and the Ruhan player with the aid of his Auriok Champion and a Wall of Reverence is hovering around 80 or so life. As it turns out he has quite a theme of stealing other people’s stuff going on, between Callous Oppressor (targeting me), Evangelize (with buyback, targeting me) and Insurrection (targeting everyone, natch). Maybe I should point him at my Threat Analysis article… By the time all that dust clears (this is pretty far into the game) the Insurrection takes out Intet (who had Scroll Rack active, and had used Praetor’s Counsel a few turns earlier, and had an Avenger of Zendikar, a Phyrexian Avenger of Zendikar, 20 2/3 plant tokens, and various other nasties. I had Chancellor of the Dross and Nicol Bolas, Tolsimir had a bunch of Saprolings, and Ghave had goodAkroma and Skullbriar. (Ruhan had Auriok Champion – still!! he was pretty happy with the double Avenger shenanigans – Callous Oppressor and bugger all else.) It wasn’t enough to kill everyone so he killed off Intet and made Ghave discard his hand with my Nicol Bolas. After that it was open season on Ruhan and he got knocked out fairly easily.

By this stage I’d got Bloodchief Ascension active and that plus Chancellor of the Dross had got me to 51 life. I got knocked down to 45 and then Tolsimir dropped his general and Overrun on the same turn and took me out, before I did the same to him (he was on 5). However, for a few turns before that I got to live the dream (a little) – I had Death Pits of Rath and Chancellor of the Dross with Thornbite Staff and got to ping creatures away (for two mana a time, unfortunately. If I’d drawn one of my Fire Whip variants I would have been very happy indeed 🙂 )

So it was down to Tolsimir and Ghave, and after a lot of back and forth, Ghave was dead (from 20-odd) on Tolsimir’s next turn. “I have a card in my graveyard that will finish this..” he says, and then flips the top card of his library – without knowing what it was – onto the table…. (see here —>)

And the card in his graveyard: Bond of Agony

EPIC WIN

Stealth Addendum: This was the swingiest, funnest, and also longest game of EDH I’ve played in quite some time. It took about 2 1/2 hours to play, and involved exactly one Wrath of God variant: Desolation Giant. Coincidence? I don’t believe so. Creatures die in combat, but not having Wraths means people actually get to play their stuff and build a board presence. I really enjoyed that aspect of it. More of the same, please!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2011 in EDH/Commander, Game Report

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Game Report – Garza Zol; epic game is epic

  1. Sam

    November 10, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    So I agree – epic game was had !

    I realised afterwards that I was not sure that Stu was removing the tokens that were dying from each attack – but anyways turns out it didnt matter in the long run.

    The wrath call is interesting. If I had an instant wrath I am fairly sure it would not have been blown until fairly late in that game anyway. Unfortunately most are sorceries and that means I might have blown it on the Zendikar board if given the chance. In fact – I am remembering using a Crime/Punishment to kill tokens…?
    I feel that while badly timed wraths do occur and wreck the game experience, another problem is people forcig wraths instead of delaying them.

    Example 1 – Player A has an active N.Disk. Player B has a great board. Player C not so great. I cant see any reason (except for deliberately prolonging the game – which may or may not be a valid reason depending on your point of view) why Player B should attack Player A or target the N.Disk with anything but split second removal. But this happens a lot in our group. Its silly. I completely understand Player C doing it though.

    Example 2 – Exactly same situation. Except this time without waiting to see what Player B and C do, Player A blows up the Disk. So, unless you have much better things in hand you want to play out, this seems pretty silly also. This does happen quite a bit as well ( I will admit I did this a bit but think I mostly avoid this mistake now).

    My 2 cents.

    Didnt tell the story of how the Callous Oppressor died 🙂

     
    • Viperion

      November 10, 2011 at 1:56 pm

      Yeah you may be right actually but as you said it didn’t matter in the end.

      You did play a Punishment for zero to get rid of Plants and Saprolings, but to me that doesn’t count as a Wrath. Blowing up a board with 20+ plant tokens and 10-odd saprolings is totally the right call, no argument from me there.

      There is a lot of “forcing” O-Stones and Disks in our group – I don’t know for sure but I’m guessing it’s so that it gets blown on your own terms and not when you can’t plan for it – although it can and will get blown eventually, so you just plan differently, don’t you?

      For the one of you that isn’t Sam that possibly reads the comments – I took control of the Callous Oppressor with Ray of Command, then targeted itself with it’s own ability, so I stayed in control of it, even though it was tapped and couldn’t do anything. I have some Clones in that deck and maybe would have cloned it to start taking creatures myself. I also had a Viscera Seer on the board so if anyone grabbed control of the Oppressor or untapped it somehow I could just sac it. I can’t actually remember how it died exactly – I do remember saccing it to the Seer but I don’t remember why

       
  2. Gene Taylor

    November 11, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    How often to N-Disk’s or O-Stones not get popped in the first turn cycle they are online?
    If they are going to be popped that cycle, forcing them to pop it on your turn means you can rebuild in your second main phase.

     
  3. Sam

    November 12, 2011 at 10:32 am

    Or you could just attack some one else and save your re-building for the next turn?

     
    • Viperion

      November 14, 2011 at 11:42 am

      I agree with Sam here. Attacking the guy with the Disk/whatever only results in you losing your current board. If you attack someone else, that’s extra points of damage/life/cards (whatever the advantage is) that you wouldn’t get otherwise.

      Of course there are arguments for when attacking the Disk is the correct play; like anything else there are exceptions to everything. However, I don’t think it’s always the right play to force the Disk.

      @Gene: O-Stones and Disks will quite often sit around for a few turns, actually. Try not attacking into one and see sometime – I think you’ll be surprised.

       
      • Gene Taylor

        November 14, 2011 at 4:33 pm

        I think this part of a bigger play style split, I wont run out an Ostone/Disk unless I am wanting to pop it asap and as such view other people playing the Ostone/Disk as an indication they intend to pop it. Given that assumption, your best line is to force them to pop it on your terms.

         
  4. Sam

    November 14, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    I think that Matt is right that there are always exception etc.

    I think you need to evaluate the individual situation carefully before forcing the wrath effect.
    If the controller is on 10 and has no other permanents in play, he or she probably played it out as a rattle snake card to stay alive. You could argue that making him blow it will probably result in the the controller dying sooner, which furthers your game plan of winning. However that implies a long fun game is not the priority but rather winning is. I guess thats a philosophical argument about why you play edh more than anything.
    You could look at it another way – dont attack him, attack someone else. Dont lose your board AND maybe make a temporary friend that will watch your back if some one attacks you?

     
    • Viperion

      November 14, 2011 at 9:45 pm

      You could look at it another way – dont attack him, attack someone else. Dont lose your board AND maybe make a temporary friend that will watch your back if some one attacks you?

      This.

       
      • Gene Taylor

        November 16, 2011 at 2:34 pm

        [i] Dont lose your board AND maybe make a temporary friend that will watch your back if some one attacks you? [/i]

        Your board is already gone once there is an active disk or Ostone on the table

         
        • Viperion

          November 16, 2011 at 2:58 pm

          Your board is already gone once there is an active disk or Ostone on the table

          I abhor that kind of “logic”. It is quite clearly NOT gone – look, it’s still there – and thinking like that makes it obvious why you “always” (note the quotes) force the wipe.

          You can have very many happy turns of attacking someone else, possibly. All you have to do is consider when it would be best for the controller of the effect to use it, and avoid constructing that situation – unless it benefits you in some way, of course.

          You’re rapidly turning into a Mark Wilson here – stating things are “like x” when in ACTUAL play and not fantasy “I know what everyone’s thinking” land….

           

Leave a Reply

 
