RSS

Garza Zol, Plague Queen: Finished List, Mk I

03 Nov

As I threatened to earlier, I’ve put this together with the cards I can find, and will give it a whirl in the next few days. I mananged to squeeze in all the themes I wanted (Vampires, Royalty, Mind Control, and just a touch of plague, er Pestilence).

You can see a breakdown of the deck here

The decklist:

// Chief Bloodsucker and Queen of the Damned
1 Garza Zol, Plague Queen

//Bloodsuckers
1 Anowon, the Ruin Sage
1 Blood Seeker
1 Blood Tyrant
1 Bloodlord of Vaasgoth
1 Butcher of Malakir
1 Chancellor of the Dross
1 Crossway Vampire
1 Drana, Kalastria Bloodchief
1 Falkenrath Marauders
1 Gatekeeper of Malakir
1 Kalastria Highborn
1 Malakir Bloodwitch
1 Rakish Heir
1 Screeching Bat
1 Sengir Nosferatu
1 Sengir Vampire
1 Skeletal Vampire
1 Vampire Hexmage
1 Vampire Nighthawk
1 Vampire Outcasts
1 Viscera Seer

//Sucking the Blood
1 Barter in Blood
1 Blood Tribute
1 Bloodchief Ascension
1 Corrupt
1 Cruel Ultimatum
1 Sign in Blood
1 Pestilence
1 Vampiric Fury

//The Machines that go “PING”
1 Arcane Teachings
1 Fire Whip
1 Flame Fusillade
1 Hypervolt Grasp
1 Lavamancer’s Skill
1 Viridian Longbow

//Your mind is weak…
1 Dream Leash
1 Enslave
1 Mind Control
1 Persuasion
1 Ray of Command
1 Traitorous Blood
1 Word of Seizing

//I say what is allowed in my domain
1 Condescend
1 Hinder
1 Rewind
1 Spell Crumple

//The Royal Court
1 Aura of Dominion
1 Beseech the Queen
1 Crown of Empires
1 Scepter of Empires
1 Throne of Empires
1 Royal Assassin

//Minions, Schemes and Tricks
1 Altar’s Reap
1 Avatar of Woe
1 Blight Sickle
1 Clone
1 Crystal Ball
1 Dimir Signet
1 Garza’s Assassin
1 Nicol Bolas
1 Soul Manipulation
1 Terminate
1 Traitor’s Roar
1 Vesuvan Shapeshifter

//Making the Mana
1 Barren Moor
1 Steam Vents
1 Blood Crypt
1 Temple of the False God
1 Rakdos Carnarium
1 Dimir Aqueduct
1 Izzet Boilerworks
1 Tresserhorn Sinks
1 Terramorphic Expanse
1 Lonely Sandbar
1 Jwar Isle Refuge
1 Frost Marsh
1 Forgotten Cave
1 Evolving Wilds
1 Dreadship Reef
1 Bojuka Bog
1 Dragonskull Summit
1 Graven Cairns
1 Shinka, the Bloodsoaked Keep
1 Stensia Bloodhall
12 Swamp
2 Island
1 Mountain

There are a number of changes I’d make immediately if I had the cards/could be bothered moving them from other decks, most notably Basilisk Collar, Death Pits of Rath, and Thornbite Staff. But in the meantime I’ll play it like this and see how it goes. I was a little worried that the curve for this deck would be too high and I’d spend the first few turns doing nothing, but I was surprised at how many playable vampires there are in CMC 1-3, so I may be able to put early pressure on. After I’ve played a couple of games I’ll give all y’all my impression of it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2011 in Challenge of Doom, EDH/Commander

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Garza Zol, Plague Queen: Finished List, Mk I

  1. DJ

    November 5, 2011 at 6:13 am

    I’m interested to hear about how this thing plays out. My personal experience with theme decks is…well, not positive. Power is sacrificed for being on-theme, which is fine to a certain extent, but when it gets shuffled against regular decks, it tends to get ugly.

    Still, this seems like an above-average power level, so thhat’s re-assuring. Seems like it is capable of handling what comes at it. Huge points for trying to assemble the ‘Of Empires’ trifecta…let me know how that works out too.

    Great list all in all.

     
    • Viperion

      November 5, 2011 at 2:07 pm

      Yeah we don’t have many “theme” decks in our playgroup, notable exceptions being Sisay the Mad Cat Woman (all the creatures are cats), and basically any deck I’ve ever built πŸ˜‰ (NO Sam, “infinite Kiki-Jiki shenanigans” is not a theme πŸ˜› ). Far and away most of the decks are “X/Y/Z goodstuff”, which would bore me to tears, but only because of my self-imposed challenge. I’m building 11 green decks, 11 red decks etc etc and if I made them goodstuff they’d all end up looking depressingly similar. If I only had two or three decks I could see why I’d just want to play the best cards I own in them – but I’d still take them apart and rebuild them all the time because I’d get bored of them.

      To be honest for this deck I’m a bit worried about the late game; there are no real late game bombs which end games outright. We’ll see when I give it a spin in a couple of days.

       
  2. Sam

    November 9, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    I am disturbed at your descriptions of our play groups decks as X/Y/Z good stuff. I feel you may be simplifying things a bit. I think that most decks do have the themes, but they also generally use the best spells in the same colours as the themes.
    For instance, my Damia deck is all about card draw and dudes that care about huge hand sizes. At the same time, its certainly got the best cards in those colours as well.

    There not as boring as you would think heh.
    And the taking them apart and re-building them is definitly part of the fun.

    Aside from all that, I thought this deck played really well. The tapper, while completely on theme, was a bit costly but I understand why its there.

     
    • Viperion

      November 9, 2011 at 2:13 pm

      It’s the ‘best cards in those colours” bit that I’m referring to – some decks are more goodstuff than others.

      How many green decks are there without Avenger of Zendikar? How many red without Kiki-Jiki? Blue without Rite of Replication? If your theme is “the best cards in the colours of my general” I wouldn’t call that a theme, really. Neither am I saying that it’s a bad way to build a deck – it’s pretty much by definition a good way to build a deck – but if I built my decks like that I may as well buy 11 Rites of Replication, 11 Avengers of Zendikar, 24 Sensei’s Divining Top, 19 Sol Rings, etc etc etc.

      At the end of the night, as long as I’m having fun playing against your decks (which I am, although I am getting sick of seeing the No-Brainer Three I mentioned above), and you’re having fun playing against my decks, then it’s all good. I’m really not playing EDH to win, I’m playing it to do Stoopid Things(tm) (and occasionally literally stupid things), and for me personally, that doesn’t involve casting the same spells every game regardless of deck.

      That game last night was a great example; it had massive board/life swings, big plays, bigger answers, little techy bits (oh btw we had that whole Ray of Command/Callous Oppressor thing right), and everyone got to do stuff and have an effect on the game. And only one of the No-Brainer Three made an appearance πŸ™‚

      I enjoy building and playing the kinds of decks you’d probably find in a Commander pre-con (slightly more powerful, I hope) and it seems that most of the rest of the group likes playing the most efficient/powerful cards in whatever colours they’re playing, and adding on-theme cards if they’re good enough to stand up to the rest of the deck.

      Classic example: No-one plays (or at least, I’ve never seen it in any decklist I’ve read, and I’ve read a lot of decklists) Icy Manipulator. Crown of Empires is worse in nearly every way, but I got a lot of use out of it last night. And that one time that I get all three “Empires” artifacts into play, it’ll be AWESOME πŸ˜›

       

Leave a Reply

 
