RSS

Garza Zol: A journey of a thousand miles…

27 Oct

…begins with one step, apparently. Since I’ve hit a bit of a wall when it comes to ideas for Ms Zol, I’ve decided I’m just going to build the damn thing and then tweak it from there. I’m going to go with a Vampire/damage dealing/grow-a-creature type strategy, with a little “you work for me now” vampire charm (<– see what I did there?!) thrown in and see how strong (or otherwise) it turns out to be. So, to the cards!

Vampires

Cards in Italics I don’t own and will have to try and trade for. Further broken down by:

Vampires that grow themselves or other Vampires

Baron Sengir (this guy is expensive, I probably have no chance of getting one)
Blood Tyrant
Bloodcrazed Neonate
Bloodlord of Vaasgoth
Falkenrath Marauders
Mephidross Vampire
Mirri the Cursed
Nirkana Revenant
Rakish Heir
Repentant Vampire
Sengir Vampire
Stromkirk Noble
Vampire Nocturnus
Vampire Outcasts
Vampiric Dragon
Vein Drinker

Vampires that take control of other creatures

Krovikan Vampire
Kalitas, Bloodchief of Ghet (kinda)
Soul Collector

Vampires that do both

Captivating Vampire
Olivia Voldaren

Other Vampires

Anowon, the Ruin Sage
Ascendant Evincar
Blood Seeker
Bloodghast (I have one but it’s in a deck that actually cares about it coming back. It’ll probably stay there) 
Bloodline Keeper // Lord of Lineage (would you believe I had two of these and traded them both? I so smart…)
Butcher of Malakir
Chancellor of the Dross
Crossway Vampire (probably weak, but nice boobs art, and helps to get other guys through)
Drana, Kalastria Bloodchief
Falkenrath Noble (wrath punishment)
Gatekeeper of Malakir
Kalastria Highborn
Malakir Bloodwitch
Moroii
Skeletal Vampire
Screeching Bat // Stalking Vampire
Vampire Hexmage
Vampire Nighthawk

Doin’ Damage, direct-styles

As well as crashing into other people in the combat phase, there’ll be a few cards which help the Vamps “ping”. Unfortunately most of them are Auras, so are pretty bad, esp since you can’t move them from creature to creature very easily. The best of them (cheap, or more resistant to removal) are:

Arcane Teachings
Fire Whip
Flame Fusillade (I like this card 🙂 )
Furystoke Giant (like this one too)
Hermetic Study
Hypervolt Grasp (One of the few that I can get back)
Lavamancer’s Skill
Power of Fire
Psionic Gift
Thornbite Staff (expensive to activate)
Viridian Longbow

There are other things in this category too like:

Warstorm Surge
Electropotence

But generally speaking these effects are pretty bad…. I’ve done a couple of searches and turned up some others, but they all seem to only effect one creature, or are a one-shot (instant or sorcery). I do like the imagery of a flock of Vampires (what else are you going to call them?!) descending on a poor unsuspecting Primeval Titan and biting him to death…

Taking Control

A much-hated part of blue’s colour pie (especially by me!), taking control of other people’s creatures is a pretty strong strategy. I do try and avoid it in my decks, but in a Vampire deck it fits the theme as well as being good, so I’m going to chuck a few of them in – but only if the name and flavour of the card fits! No Bribery here, we Vampires are much too sophisticated to resort to mere coin! At the moment I’m looking at:

Charisma
Control Magic
Dominate
Enslave
Mind Control
Persuasion
Ray of Command
Scythe of the Wretched
Slave of Bolas
Traitorous Blood
Word of Seizing

 Other Stuff

Some of this interacts with the other themes; some of it is goodstuff inclusions, and some of it is just things I’ve wanted to put in a deck…. 😉

Avatar of Woe
Backlash/Traitor’s Roar
Basilisk Collar (I have one, but it’s in another deck. I could see moving it to here though)
Beacon of Unrest
Blade of the Bloodchief
Blight Sickle
Clone/Metamorph/Vesusvan Doppelganger etc etc etc
Damnation
Fang Skulkin (probably not…)
Fists of the Demigod
Gorgon Flail
Hinder/Spell Crumple
Pestilence
Phyrexian Arena
Quietus Spike
Rite of Replication
Vesuvan Shapeshifter

Well, that’s a… pile of cards…

I think I’ll throw this together with the cards I have, add some more draw and removal, and call it a deck. I’m still not too happy about how this ended up, but maybe it’ll be more fun to play than it looks. I’m definitely going to revisit this deck in the very near future – one thing I haven’t mentioned yet that keeps popping into my head is a Proliferate subtheme – I have some proliferate cards in Animar and they’ve been surprisingly useful.

Comments, as always, are welcome – but be gentle with me! This doesn’t look much like a deck to me, at least, not at the moment!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2011 in Challenge of Doom, EDH/Commander

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Garza Zol: A journey of a thousand miles…

  1. Thaumaturge

    October 29, 2011 at 8:46 am

    Hey, do you have a trade list or anything? Cause I’ve got most of the stuff on your list, and would be happy to trade via mail… if that’s not too much of a pain in the ass. Believe me I would understand!

     
    • Viperion

      October 29, 2011 at 8:50 am

      Yep I do; it’s a work in progress (I’m sorting through my collection so I can actually find the cards I want 😉 ) but I have White, Blue, Black and Red up here: http://www.magictraders.com/ubb/Forum2/HTML/239517.html

      Hopefully I’ll finish off the list soon but like everything it’s taking longer than I thought it would!

       

Leave a Reply

 
