RSS

Game Reports: Mayael and Kitsune Mystic (and Animar by proxy)

19 Oct

Played a couple of games tonight..

Game 1 – Mayael the Anima

vs Numot, Rorix Bladewing, (my) Doran, and Kiku

This was a case of my deck firing a little too well. First few turns went:

1) Forest, Birds of Paradise
2) Kodama’s Reach
3) Rampant Growth, Cream of the Crop
4) Fatty (Plated Slagwurm)
5) Fatty (Oversoul of Dusk)
6) Mirari’s Wake
7) Fatty Fatty (I think Mycoid Shepherd and Spectral Force)
8 ) …. etc

Needless to say everyone else freaked a little and went all defensive… then Rorix found a Strata Scythe and double strike and took me out first, just after Kiku played a kicked Sadistic Sacrament on me. 😦 Ah well, you come out that fast and people start targeting you. Unfortunately none of the other decks really got going at the same rate and so I was the obvious target, even though I was careful to only have two creatures (plus Birds) out at once. Cream of the Crop is some good, but I need to find some kind of repeatable card draw (I’m thinking Fecundity?) to pull the card immediately into my hand. This deck really needs a Scroll Rack but I just can’t find one.

As an aside, Sam (hi Sam!) was playing my Doran deck, which is pretty much Treefolk tribal and he’s decided not to play it again… I don’t think it’s that bad (decklist up later) but it is awfully reliant on keeping dudes in play, which didn’t happen a lot.

Game 2 – Kitsune Mystic

vs Damia, Stonebrow, (my) Animar, Glissa the Traitor

This was almost the exact opposite of Game 1 – I had an early Kitsune Mystic with Black Ward on it, but it dies to Fleshbag Marauder (oh the irony!) After that I draw a whole lot of nothin’ – Pacifism, Prison Term, Arrest, Stasis Cocoon, Journey to Nowhere… all of which are negated by infinite Sylvok Replica‘s from Glissa, making me an extremely sad panda.

In fact the deck works so poorly that everyone takes pity on me and leaves me alone, while they deal with each other, and especially with my Animar deck (being piloted by Sam (hi Sam!), who wanted to play a good deck after his Doran experience πŸ˜‰ ) In one turn Animar goes from 1/1 to 7/7, adding Fierce Empath, Simic Sky Swallower and a couple of friends to the board. That gets wrathed away and he sits for a while too.

Eventually I get a Sigil of the Empty Throne, a couple of Angels, and an Umbra Mystic with Serra’s Embrace and one of the Angels picks up Armored Ascension. I get in some beats, then somehow my Lost Auramancers die naturally and fetch up my True Conviction. I go from 22 to 50 in the next attack, taking out both Damia and Stonebrow. Glissa is gone by this stage, so it’s me vs Animar. Unfortunately, Animar has Tidespout Tyrant in play and Mystic Speculation in hand, so by the time he finishes bouncing all my nonland permanents, he kills me in short order. Still, my decks came 1st and 2nd in that game, even if it was through indifference πŸ˜‰

A couple of decent games, from which the moral seems to be: Don’t get ahead, lest you lose your head!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 19, 2011 in EDH/Commander, Game Report

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Game Reports: Mayael and Kitsune Mystic (and Animar by proxy)

  1. sam

    October 25, 2011 at 10:55 am

    THat animar game was the boss. If only I had known what its potential comboness was and perhaps waited a turn before trying to accidentally go off. Very solid.
    I think that treefolk is pretty good, but needs some more “good” spells. I hope that doesnt sound rough but I mean things like swords, lurking predators, etc. I know its themed and limited cards constrains the choices, so this is just a suggestion if it wanted to not lose much. Its pretty fine as it is for a themed casual deck πŸ™‚ Hmmm I hoping that didnt come across as patronising – not intentional.

     
    • Viperion

      October 25, 2011 at 11:12 am

      Yeah I built the Animar deck to go up against the “good” decks in our group – it’s supposed to be one of those “win on one turn” decks that we need in our group πŸ™‚ Doran on the other hand is a lot more laid back, although the almost complete lack of ways to actually deal with things probably needs to be addressed. Lurking Predators could possibly go in it (if I had one..) as there are a lot of creatures in the deck, but that doesn’t really solve any of it’s problems. I just this weekend ranked my decks on a scale of 1 to 5 depending on how “good” (as much as you can define the term) they are and I put Animar at a 4 (tied with Ghost Council and Omnath for best) and Doran at 2.5 (second lowest after Isperia and Zedruu).

      I’ll revisit Doran at some point b/c it’s not a great deck, and it’s frustrating to sit there not being able to deal with other peoples stuff, but I want to improve Zedruu and finish Garza Zol first. However I think it’s important (to me, if no one else) that I’m not building the decks to all be super-hard-out-good, so I have a range to choose from depending what mood I’m in/what I’m playing against.

      Oh, and we can’t be friends any more, you condescending prick πŸ˜›

       
  2. Sam

    October 26, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    Lol – noooooooO!

     

Leave a Reply

 
