RSS

Game Report: Nin, the Pain Artist

12 Oct

Took Nin out for a spin last night and managed to take out a four person table (Hooray!). I was playing against (in turn order): Omnath, Memnarch (a counterspell-less version apparently), Anowon and myself. Highlights as follows:

  • Only missed one land drop all game, on turn 5. However that was without any draw spells to help me (up until that point), and I’m not sureย I could pull that off again. Jury still out on whether I’m running enough mana sources. At that point I had Niv-Mizzet, Darksteel Sentinel and Aeon Chronicler in my hand, any of which I would have happily played if I had a sixth mana. (Next turn I drew Deep Analysis, cast it, and got Island, Sol Ring as my two cards. Win! Play Island, cast Sol Ring, Flashback Deep Analysis… two more Islands!)
  • Cast Nin on turn 2, she lasted about 4 turns, but I never activated her ability, being constantly one mana off actually being able to kill something.
  • With the help of Inner Fire, cast a Rite of Replication on my Darksteel Sentinel, only to be Gather Specimens‘ed (it’s a word!) by Memnarch.
  • The crucial turn; Omnath had out Omanth, Seedborn Muse and… irrelevant stuff. I cast Minds Aglow, added 5 (leaving Mountain, Island, Darksteel Ingot untapped). Omnath added 5, Memnarch 1, and Anowon (possibly seeing what was coming) none. We all draw 11. I was planning on mostly-killing Memnarch with the Cerebral Vortex in my hand, but found Molten Psyche in my 11, along with Reliquary Tower and Scrabbling Claws. Tower –> Claws (giving me Metalcraft with Claws, Ingot, and Divvy Top), Molten Psyche. Everyone takes 22, knocking out Anowon and reducing Omnath and Memnarch both to 6 ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Omnath plays Terastodon killing my Reliquary Tower and Temple of the False God ๐Ÿ˜ฆ (and something of Memnarch’s) and I had just enough defence (and 19 life) to stop him running me over, so he passes the turn. Memnarch kills Omnath because he can, then I untap, Frantic Search dumping Conflagrate into my graveyard (as insurance), then cast Adamaro and Soul’s Fire, killing the Memnarch player.
  • I was actually one Red short of casting Adamaro, Soul’s Fire and Conflagrate (flashed back) all in one turn, so may be a little heavy on blue and light on red sources. Something to keep an eye on.

WIN!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2011 in EDH/Commander, Game Report

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Game Report: Nin, the Pain Artist

  1. Sam

    October 13, 2011 at 8:51 am

    You should have Nin’ed either to make a friend or get extra cards for yourself by target yourself? Does Nin’ing Nin work? Lol at English usage.

     
    • Viperion

      October 13, 2011 at 9:33 am

      Yep she can target herself just fine. I was looking for one of my indestructible guys or a guy whose P/T is = to number of cards in my hand cos you can’t actually kill them with Nin’s ability. Aside from herself, I don’t think there were ever any targets for her to shoot all game.

      I could have recast her to shoot my DS Sentinel later on, but didn’t really need to. In a longer game she would have made another appearance.

      If you’d blown up Bad Moon with your Wickerbough Elder I could have shot Anowon… ๐Ÿ˜‰

       
      • Sam

        October 13, 2011 at 12:01 pm

        i mean you dont have to kill something. sometimes giving an opponent cards could buy you some more turns. obviously in this case did matter as i went for the not winning play ๐Ÿ˜‰

         
        • Viperion

          October 13, 2011 at 12:07 pm

          Giving an opponent cards while not doing anything to affect the board seems like a pretty ballsy play (esp in our group; it seems more likely that player will smash me with the free cards than anyone else. Politics is not our strong suite…)

           

Leave a Reply

 
