RSS

Nin: Big Pile O’ Cards

02 Oct

Stage 2 of the build: I have 77 cards I want to put in the deck πŸ™‚ As much as I’d like to throw 23 land in and have a go, it seems that probably wouldn’t work too well. So. Here are the cards I’m considering, with notes where appropriate. What should I keep? Cut? What did I miss?

Drawing Cards

Aeon Chronicler
Ancestral Vision
Azure Mage
Barbed Shocker
Careful Consideration
Compulsive Research
Concentrate
Deep Analysis
Font of Mythos
Frantic Search
Howling Mine
Jace Beleren
Jace’s Archivist
Jace’s Ingenuity
Kami of the Crescent Moon
Magus of the Jar
Memory Jar (obvious card is obvious!)
Mindmoil
Mulldrifter
Mystic Remora (Yes Rhystic Study is better. I don’t got any)
Teferi’s Puzzle Box
Temple Bell
Think Twice
Thought Reflection (win more?)
Tolarian Winds
Vision Skeins
Windfall
Words of Wisdom

Damaging You

Adamaro, First to Desire
Cerebral Vortex
Molten Psyche (slightly nervous about enabling Metalcraft with this one)
Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind
Psychosis Crawler
Sokenzan Spellblade
Soul’s Fire (Targets: Adamaro, Aeon Chronicler, Psychosis Crawler, Soramaro)
Spiraling Embers
Sudden Impact

No Hand Size

Library of Leng
Reliquary Tower
Venser’s Journal

Indestructible Dudes to draw cards off

Darksteel Brute
Darksteel Myr
Darksteel Sentinel
Manor Gargoyle

Copy Effects

Echo Mage
Mischievous Quanar
Twincast

Mana Rocks/Spells

Darksteel Ingot
Inner Fire
Izzet Signet
Mana Geyser
Manalith (this is kinda meh, I realise)

Counter Suite

Cryptic Command
Dream Fracture
Faerie Trickery
Hinder
Remand
Rewind

Graveyard Hate

(This gets its own heading because of the way this deck probably works. People will have full hands, and will be discarding a lot of cards. I want to make sure I can clamp down on graveyard shenanigans)
Relic of Progenitus
Scrabbling Claws
Tormod’s Crypt

Good Stuff (good in general, not necessarily on-theme)

Call the Skybreaker
Electrolyze
Lightning Greaves
Rite of Replication
Sensei’s Divining Top
Sol Ring
Spin into Myth
Word of Seizing

Cute Stuff (the first to get cut, probably)

Conflagrate
Mask of Memory
Ivory Crane Nestuke (Can’t find any Ebony Owl Netsukes, which would be much better)
Comet Storm (or any other X spell. I’m just not sure that I’ll be far enough ahead on life to run things like Molten Disaster/Earthquake)
Akki Underling (Even a 4/2 first striker isn’t that good)
Keep Watch (the very definition of “narrow application”)
Parallectric Feedback (my super-secret Genesis Wave tech. Not sure if it should be in here, but kinda keen to keep it)
Quenchable Fire (in EDH this is basically 6 damage for 3R. Good enough?)
Forced Fruition

Importantish Notes

There are still cards I don’t have that I’m trying to trade for that will go in here; among them:

Blue Sun’s Zenith
Graceful Adept
Myojin of Seeing Winds
Soramaro, First to Dream
Stroke of Genius
Sturmgeist

Koth of the Hammer
Vicious Shadows

Creepy Doll
Stuffy Doll
Thousand-Year Elixir

Also there are a number of spells in here that I’m not particularly attached to, but I’d like second and third opinions – what would you add? remove? keep?

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Nin: Big Pile O’ Cards

  1. murkymercy

    October 2, 2011 at 1:59 am

    I’d add Prophetic Bolt and a ton of ways to kill artifacts. Also maybe Meishin the Mind Cage since you’ll often have a large hand?

     
    • labnrpg

      October 2, 2011 at 10:35 am

      It’s YOU!!! πŸ˜‰

      Prophetic Bolt and Meishin are good ideas. Do you think there are any artifacts in particular that this deck would be weak to?

       
  2. Josef Steyn

    October 2, 2011 at 8:08 am

    Just some thoughts on cards you might cut or keep ^^

    Keeps

    Keep Watch(if there are any token decks where you play. you might like this)
    Conflagrate(inner fire + insane hand size would be pretty funny ^^ add reiterate for stupidity)
    Molten Psyche(buy the time you want to us this you should be able to have MC if even if you cut some more artifacts)

    Cuts

    Akki Underling(i could see you running it if your meta fits)
    Quenchable Fire(6… damage is not a lot. most X burn spells would be better)
    Electrolyze(unless you fight a lot of 2 toughness generals I don’t think you want to be running this)
    Manalith(2 colors tend to feel like they don’t need mana fixing if you have this much draw power)
    Rewind(only way I see you using this is if you rewind some spell and then do a windfall effect)
    Jace’s Ingenuity(feels a bit out of its depth to me in a deck with this much draw)

    hope i help a little ^^

     
    • labnrpg

      October 2, 2011 at 10:45 am

      I’d like to keep Conflagrate as (obviously) the flashback casting could kill a couple of players out of nowhere with Reiterate/Twincast/whatever. I’m not cutting Molten Psyche but will be keeping an eye on how often I have it in my hand and don’t have Metalcraft.

      I’m a big fan of Rewind, if only because it’s a “free” counterspell, and can actually make mana with lands that tap for 2 (although having said that the only lands that do tap for 2 in this deck are likely to be Izzet Boilerworks (Is IT?!) and Temple of the False God).

      Thanks for the post!

       
      • Josef Steyn

        October 2, 2011 at 10:54 am

        I was retarded i thought it was remend lol. I like rewind too ^^
        another card that might be interesting is Charisma?http://gatherer.wizards.com/pages/card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=20456

         
        • Viperion

          October 2, 2011 at 11:01 am

          Interesting card! Not sure it goes in here – it’s obviously pretty nuts with Nin, but I think she’ll have a big enough target on her head already. I’ll keep that in mind for future decks though.

           
  3. murkymercy

    October 2, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    Sword of Fire and Ice may be a weakness πŸ˜›

     
    • Viperion

      October 2, 2011 at 5:36 pm

      Naaa. Psychosis Crawler solves that problem with ease πŸ™‚

       
  4. Thaumaturge

    October 5, 2011 at 10:15 am

    I envy you your problem… my pile o’ cards for Nin wound up being 124 cards tall. I spent the majority of my weekend making different versions of the deck and goldfishing them… none played as well as I hoped – in fact, most builds seemed downright terrible. I have no idea what to do. It’s been a long, long time since I’ve been this stumped by a deck.

     
    • Viperion

      October 5, 2011 at 10:28 am

      There’s a lot of cards that didn’t make this cut; and I still have more (just traded for a Blue Sun’s Zenith, for example), so I know the issue. When I was building Animar I had something like 130 odd non-land cards I wanted to put in. I’m at home over the next two nights so will make the hard calls and cut it down to the 99+1. Stayed tuned, gentle reader!

       

Leave a Reply

 
